"ReAniMate 3.0: The CoVeRs eP" - Halestorm [Full Album Stream + Zumic Review]

Francesco Marano

by Francesco Marano

Published January 6, 2017

Hard rock band Halestorm have released a six track covers EP titled ReAniMate 3.0: The CoVeRs eP. Stream it above, via Spotify.

This is the third covers EP by the band, following ReAniMate in 2011 and ReAniMate 2.0 in 2013. Here is the tracklist of the songs and artists they cover on the 2017 edition:

"Still Of The Night" by Whitesnake
"Damn I Wish I Was Your Lover" by Sophie B. Hawkins
"I Hate Myself for Loving You" by Joan Jett and The Blackhearts
"Heathens" by Twenty One Pilots
"Fell On Black Days" by Soundgarden
"Ride The Lightning" by Metallica

The outlier is "Heathens" by Twenty One Pilots, released in 2016 — twenty years after any of the other five songs, each of which can each be looked back upon as groundbreaking hit tracks between 1984 and 1995.

Vocalist Lzzy Hale and her bandmates, guitarist Joe Hottinger, bassist Josh Smith, and drummer Arejay Hale, put an interesting twist on these rock tunes. The band demonstrates their ability to channel a range of genres from glam and pop punk to grunge and metal and retain the songs' original essence while adding their own sound and feel.

Perhaps what stands out most are Lzzy's impressive and dynamic vocals, supported by excellent musicianship. The production on the tracks is raw, which works well with these hard rock classics — although the mix and master sounds severely over-compressed which does detract from the overall listening experience.

ReAniMate 3.0: The CoVeRs eP is currently available on Amazon.

For more, check out the Halestorm Zumic artist page.

Halestorm ReAniMate 3.0: The CoVeRs eP cover art
Alt Metal
Send Feedback
Registration and login will only work if you allow cookies. Please check your settings and try again.

Web Analytics