"Sorceress" - Opeth [Full Album Stream + Zumic Review]

Francesco Marano

by Francesco Marano

Published October 4, 2016
Opeth Sorceress album cover art

Swedish progressive metal band Opeth have released their 12th studio album, Sorceress, via Nuclear Blast and Moderbolaget Records.

The album is a journey and each song stands on its own as a unique entity. There are classical touches with acoustic guitar and explosive riffs balanced against each other, with some tracks sounding like 1970s era progressive rock while others fall under the umbrella of brutal heavy metal. Through it all, the band explore new territory that opens up dimensions of the mind.

The LP contains 16 tracks (including five bonus songs) and was recorded at Rockfield Studios in Wales. Our favorite songs are "The Wilde Flowers," "Sorceress," "Chrysalis," and "The Seventh Sojourn."

Band members on the LP include Mikael Åkerfeldt (vocals, guitar, production), Fredrik Åkesson (guitar, backing vocals), Joakim Svalberg (piano, keyboard, backing vocals), Martín Méndez (bass), and Martin Axenrot (drums, percussion). The band has put together an 11-part series on YouTube that takes you inside the studio and the creative process that went into Sorceress. Watch below:

Sorceress is currently available on Amazon. You can also stream the full album for free above, courtesy of Spotify.

For more music, news, and tour information about Opeth, check out their Zumic artist page.

Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock
Send Feedback
Registration and login will only work if you allow cookies. Please check your settings and try again.

Web Analytics